Name and Contact Information Previous Institution and Degree Focus Area(s) and Research Title

Sreeya Brahma
Ph.D. Student 
sbrahma@vt.edu

Madras School of Economics, Central University of Tamil Nadu, M.S. Economics

Asutosh College, University of Calcutta, B.S. Economics  

Food and Health Economics

Xiang Cao
Ph.D. Student 
caox0409@vt.edu

University of Florida, M.S. Food and Resource Economics

University of International Relations, B.S. Economics

Food and Health Economics, Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Applied Econometrics

Zhen Cheng
Ph.D. Student
zhen6@vt.edu

Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, M.S. Economics

University of Science and Technology of China, B.S. Biological Sciences

Rural and Regional Development, Applied Econometrics

Muntasir Hasan
M.S. Student
muntasir@vt.edu

North South University, M.S. and BBA Economics

International Development and Trade

Bret Hathaway 
M.S.  Student
bret90@vt.edu

Virginia Tech, Agribusiness Managment 

Agricultural Finance and Marketing

Mina Hejazi
Ph.D. Student
minah@vt.edu

Shahid Bahonar University of Kerman, B.S. Agricultural Economics, University of Wyoming, M.S. Agricultural and Applied Economics

International Development and Trade, Applied Econometrics

Zachary Horton 
M.S. Student
zachho5@vt.edu

 

Virginia Tech, B.A. Economics, 

International Trade

Sydni Jackson
M.S. Student
sydnijackson@vt.edu
 

Virginia Tech, B.A. Economics, Minor International Studies

International Development

Wesley Johnson
M.S. Student
jwesley5@vt.edu

Virginia Tech, B.S. Forestry

Environmental and Natural Resource Economics

Steven Jordan 
M.S. Student 
sejordan@vt.edu

North Carolina State University, B.S. Agricultural Business Management

International Development and Trade, Agribusiness

Vartan Kesiz Abnousi
Ph.D. Student
vkesizab@vt.edu

Agricultural University of Athens, M.S. Finance, B.S. Agricultural & Applied Economics

Applied Econometrics, Rural and Regional Development, Natural Resource Economics

Julie Kehs
Ph.D. Student
juliek8@vt.edu

Lebanon Valley College , B.A. Economics

International Development

Namhoon Kim
Ph.D. Student
hoonkim@vt.edu

Chung-Ang University, B.A. Economics
State Universtiy of New York at Buffalo, M.A. Economics and Mathematics

Applied Econometrics

Montgomery McCarthy
M.S. Student
montg93@vt.edu
 

Virginia Tech, B.S. Environmental Economics, Management, and Policy

Environmental and Natural Resource Economics

Stephanie Myrick
M.S. Student
snmyrick@vt.edu

Virginia Tech, B.S. Applied Economic Management

International Development and Trade

Craig Nelson
M.S. Student
cnelso20@vt.edu
 

University of Illinois-Urbana, B.S. Technical Systems Management

International Agriculture Development

Xin Ning
Ph.D. Student
xning@vt.edu
 

Nanjing Audit University, B.A. Economics

International Development and Trade, International Finance

Ulrike Nischan
Ph.D. Student
unischan@vt.edu
 

University of Illinois Urbana, B.S. Political Science 

University of Wisconsin- Madison, Masters of Public and International Affairs 

International Development and Trade & Applied Econometrics

Catherine O'Donnell
M.S. Student
catod@vt.edu
 

Virginia Tech, B.S. Agricultural and Applied Economics

International Development and Trade

Khadija Rouchdi
Ph.D. Student
khadija@vt.edu

Ecole Nationale de Commerce et de Gestion, BBA Accounting 

University of Wyoming, M.S. Agricultural and Applied Economics 

International Development and Trade

Farhanaz Sharmin
Ph.D. Student
farhanaz@vt.edu

University of Dhaka, M.S. Economics and B.S. Economics

International Development and Trade, Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Applied Econometrics

Santa Rosario
M.S. Student 
rsanta@vt.edu

National School of Forestry Science, B.S. Forest Science 

Agribusiness 

Ruoding Shi
Ph.D. Student 
ruoding@vt.edu

University of Florida, M.S. Food and Resource Economics
Central University of Finance and Economics, B.S. Economics

Agriculture Marketing, Behavioral and Health Economics

Emma Shirey
M.S. Student 
emma14@vt.edu

Virginia Tech, B.S. Animal and Poultry Sciences

International Development and Trade

Yu Sun
Ph.D. Student
ruthsun@vt.edu

Nankai University, M.A. Western Economics

Jilin University, B.A. Business Administration

Applied Econometrics, Food and Health Economics

Katie Stump
M.S. Student
katies92@vt.edu

Virginia Tech, B.S. Applied Economic Management

Resource and Environmental Economics

Benjamin Tutko
M.S. Student
bttutko@vt.edu

Virginia Tech, B.S. Applied Economic Management in International Trade and Development

Environmental Economics

Kate Vaiknoras
Ph.D. Student
kvaiknor@vt.edu

Virginia Tech, M.S. Agricultural and Applied Economics

Smith College, B.A. Economics

Rural and Regional Development

Alexis Villacis-Aveiga
Ph.D. Student 
alexisv@vt.edu

Purdue University - West Lafayette, M.S. Applied Economic Management 

Escuela Agricola Panamericana, B.S. Agribusiness 

International Trade and Development

Weizhe Weng
Ph.D. Student 
weizhe11@vt.edu

Jinan University, M.S. Economics, Jiangxi University of Finance & Economics, B.S. Economics, B.A. English

Resource and Environmental Economics, Applied Econometrics

Yuri Woo
M.S.  Student
wyuri91@vt.edu

Mississsippi State University, B.BA. Economics & Business 

Catholic University of Daegu, B.BA. Economics & Business

Econometrics

Chaoping Xie
Ph.D. Student
xiecp@vt.edu

Virginia Tech, M.S. Statistics

Dalian University of Technology, B.S. Math

International Trade, Health Economics, Econometrics

Weibin Xu
Ph.D. Student
weibin86@vt.edu

Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China, B.S. Economics,
M.S. Agricultural Economics and Management

Environmental and Resource Economics, Food and Health Economics

Yuelu Xu
Ph.D. Student
xuyuelu@vt.edu

University of Florida, M.A. Food and Resource Economics

Shanghai University of International Business and Economics, B.A. Event Management

Natural Resource Economics and Applied Economics

Yanliang Yang
Ph.D. Student
ylyang@vt.edu

Fudan University, M.A. Economics

Shanghai University of Finance and Economics, B.A. Economics

Food and Health Economics

Ling Yu
Ph.D. Student
lingyu@vt.edu

Zhejiang University, B.S. Applied Biological
Science and B.S. Finance

Applied Econometrics, Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Food and Health Economics

Wei Zhang
M.S. Student
weiz@vt.edu

Northwestern University, M.A. Economics

Kansas State University, B.S. Economics

International Development and Trade

Zeya Zhang
Ph.D. Student
zzeya7@vt.edu

John Hopkins University, M.A. Applied Economics

East China Normal University, B.S. International Economics and Trade

Colorado State University, B.A. Economics

Rural and Regional Development

Jiafeng Zhu
M.S. Student
jiafengz@vt.edu

Zhejiang University, B.A.

Food Systems