Virginia Tech® home

Advisory Board

The advisory board provides advice and support to the department head on educational and academic programs in addition to other initiatives to help strengthen the national and global reputation of the department. 

Meet our members

  • Jay Abbott '83
    Director of Operations, Red Suns Farms
  • John Anderson
    Credit Manager, Farm Credit of the Virginias
  • Robert Coleman
    Chief Operating Officer, Farm Credit Administration
  • Steven Critchfield '80
    President and Founder, MOVA Technologies
  • Greg Estep '83 - CHAIR
    Food and Agriculture Advisor
  • Alicia Morris '02, 04
    Managing Director, Farm Credit University for AgFirst Farm Credit Bank and Administrative V.P. for AgriVisions, LLC
  • J. Pearson '87
    Entrepreneur and Professor of Practice, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics
  • Lindsay Reames '04, '06
    Executive Vice President of Sustainability & External Relations, Maryland and Virginia Milk Producers Cooperative 
  • John B. Rowsell, Ph.D. '87, '91
    Partner, Canyon Road Capital

Previous advisory board meeting agendas

AAEC January 26 2024 Advisory Board Agenda.pdf

Upcoming meeting



  • Matthew T. Holt, Department Head and Professor
  • Melissa Vidmar, Communications and Marketing Manager